Menu
Investment expertise

Global Equity Research

UBP’s dedicated team of experienced global sector/country analysts aims to take advantage of investment opportunities that present themselves over the course of a company’s life cycle. The team conducts rigorous fundamental and quantitative analysis on a large number of firms, and their stock-picking has outperformed the MSCI AC World TR in almost every calendar year since 2005.


Concept

During a typical company’s life cycle (i.e. growth – maturity – decline), its business model generates varying levels of cash flow return on investment  CFROI). While superior CFROIs tend to fade down to the Cost of Capital (CoC) as value creation opportunities attract competition, leading to margin compression, inferior returns may “fade up” to the CoC as a result of restructuring or competitors exiting the market. The team looks to recommend and invest either in companies with consistent, superior CFROIs and that steadily create value over the long term but that are not yet discounted by the market, or in turnaround stories that are drastically undervalued. The team also focuses on companies that are experiencing a phase of accelerating growth that may not yet be fully appreciated in terms of the magnitude and duration of the widening positive spread between CFROI and CoC.

Research process

  • The team conducts detailed, bottom-up analysis, both fundamental and quantitative, on the companies in their sectors/countries.
  • The analysts and the GIC identify themes of investment interest.
  • The analysts use their experience to look for companies within these themes which have a history of “beating the fade” (i.e. those firms which continue to generate superior returns rather than revert to average returns) and assess whether they are likely to continue to do so in the future. They also seek out interesting turnaround stories and companies showing strong growth.
  • They conduct regular company visits and management meetings as they seek out catalysts that could lead to growth (e.g. changes in management, restructuring and new products).
  • Once companies have been identified, they perform in-depth, fundamental analysis, including CFROI forecasts and asset growth rates for the next five to ten years.
  • The analysts calculate the discounted cash flows for the forecast period. They use these to derive the fair value of each company and set a twelve-month price target.

Key points

  • Excellent long-term track record
  • Consistent outperformance in all market phases
  • Disciplined stock-selection methodology and investment process
  • Worldwide coverage of all equity sectors
  • Experienced and well-resourced team
  • Committed to meeting clients’ needs

Documents

Research team

  • An experienced team of eight analysts, several of whom have been through a number of market cycles.
  • They work closely with UBP’s economists, strategists and fund managers.
Discover our range of funds
Our fund range

Funds

View all our funds.

Read more

Institutional clients

With a team of more than 200 people, UBP Asset Management has built an on-the-ground presence in the world’s major markets through organic growth and selected partnerships.

Insight 20.04.2017

Investment Outlook Q2 2017

Sustained and synchronised growth: world growth continues on a positive trajectory in Q2, driven by the positive trend in place in the US, sustained activity in Asia and a more constructive outlook for the Eurozone. Growth looks to be sustained and synchronised across the main regions, thanks to firmer activity in the manufacturing sector and a positive trend in consumption.

Menu
Expertises d'investissement

Global Equity Research

L’UBP dispose d’une équipe dédiée d’analystes sectoriels/pays globaux très expérimentés, visant à tirer parti des opportunités d’investissement qui se présentent tout au long du cycle de vie d’une entreprise. L’équipe mène notamment une analyse fondamentale et quantitative rigoureuse sur un grand nombre de sociétés et, depuis 2005, sa sélection de titres a surperformé quasiment chaque année le MSCI AC World TR.


Présentation

Durant les diverses phases du cycle de vie d’une société (croissance, maturité et déclin), son modèle d’affaires génère différents niveaux de CFROI* (rendement interne du capital investi). Alors que les CFROI supérieurs tendent à diminuer pour se rapprocher du coût du capital – puisque les opportunités de création de valeur attirent la concurrence (d’où une compression des marges) –, les rendements inférieurs peuvent augmenter et tendre vers le coût du capital à la suite de restructurations ou après que des concurrents se sont retirés du marché. S’agissant de l’identification des opportunités d’investissement, l’équipe a pour objectif de recommander des sociétés dotées de CFROI durablement supérieurs et qui créent systématiquement de la valeur sur le long terme, mais qui n’ont pas encore été intégrées par le marché. L’équipe a également la tâche de recommander des sociétés ayant fait l’objet d’un renversement de tendance et qui sont très nettement sous-évaluées. Elle se concentre par ailleurs sur les sociétés qui connaissent une phase d’accélération de la croissance susceptible de ne pas être pleinement appréciée du point de vue de l’ampleur et de la durée de l’élargissement du différentiel positif entre le CFROI et le coût du capital.

*CFROI: Cash Flow Return On Investment

Processus de recherche

L’équipe analyse les sociétés au sein de leur secteur/pays respectif, en se fondant sur une approche «bottom-up» – fondamentale et quantitative – rigoureuse.

  • Les analystes et le Comité d’investissement global identifient les thèmes d’investissement les plus intéressants.
  • Les analystes mettent à profit leur expertise pour rechercher, au sein de ces mêmes thèmes, les sociétés qui présentent un historique de rendements systématiquement supérieurs, c’est-à-dire les sociétés qui continuent de générer des rendements supérieurs plutôt que de revenir à des rendements moyens. Ils évaluent en outre la capacité de ces mêmes sociétés à conserver cette tendance dans le futur. Les analystes cherchent également des sociétés attrayantes ayant fait l’objet d’un renversement de tendance et des sociétés affichant une forte croissance.
  • L’équipe effectue régulièrement des visites auprès des entreprises ainsi que des entretiens avec les dirigeants, dans la mesure où elle recherche les catalyseurs susceptibles de tirer la croissance (par exemple des changements au niveau de la direction, des restructurations et de nouveaux produits).
  • Une fois les sociétés identifiées, l’équipe procède à une analyse fondamentale approfondie, en examinant notamment les prévisions de CFROI et les taux de croissance des actifs pour les cinq à dix années à venir.
  • Les analystes calculent la valeur actualisée des flux de trésorerie disponibles (DCF**) pour la période prévisionnelle concernée. Ils ont recours à la méthode des DCF pour déterminer la valeur d’équilibre de chaque société et établir un objectif de cours sur douze mois.

**DCF: Discounted Cash Flows

Points forts

  • Un excellent historique de performance sur le long terme
  • Une surperformance régulière dans toutes les phases de marché
  • Une sélection de titres et un processus d’investissement fondés sur une approche rigoureuse
  • Une couverture mondiale de tous les secteurs actions
  • Une équipe expérimentée et disposant des ressources nécessaires
  • L’engagement de satisfaire les attentes de la clientèle

Documents

Equipe de recherche

  • Une équipe expérimentée composée de huit analystes ayant une grande expertise des différents cycles de marché
  • Une collaboration étroite avec les économistes, les stratégistes et les gérants de fonds de l’UBP
Découvrez notre gamme de fonds
Notre gamme de fonds

Fonds

Consultez l'intégralité de nos fonds.

Lire la suite

Clients institutionnels

Avec plus de 200 professionnels de l’investissement, UBP Asset Management a réussi à se doter d’une présence locale sur les principaux marchés mondiaux, grâce à une croissance organique et à des partenariats ciblés.

Expertise 12.06.2017

UK elections - Political challenges continue

The disappointing outcome for UK Prime Minister Theresa May’s Conservative Party suggests a fragile political backdrop as the British government enters negotiations about its exit from the European Union.