1. Glossary > Asset Class
  2. Emerging equities
Menu
Glossary > Asset Class

Emerging equities

Emerging equities

The term “emerging equities” refers to the listed shares of companies based in emerging-market countries. In general, emerging-market countries are regarded as having rapidly growing economies that show greater potential returns but higher risk than developed markets.

Index providers differ in the criteria they use to define an equity market as “emerging”. One of the largest – US company MSCI – developed the first broad emerging-market index in 1988, the MSCI Emerging Markets. This benchmark index is widely followed by both passive and active fund managers, and is based on three sets of criteria: economic development, size and liquidity, and market accessibility. When it was launched, the index covered 10 countries, accounting for less than 1% of the world’s total market capitalisation. Today, it covers 24 countries that together account for 10% of the global market cap. The BRIC countries (Brazil, Russia, India and China) alone account for 47% of the index.

“Frontier markets” can be regarded as a sub-set of emerging equity markets, consisting of economies in the early stages of development. Despite being small and relatively illiquid, these markets are believed by investors to offer attractive potential and the chance of investing in the “emerging markets of the future”. The MSCI Frontier Markets Index covers 29 of these countries, including Bangladesh, Kuwait, Romania and Vietnam.

UBP Emerging Equities
Our areas of expertise

Investment Expertises

Discover all our areas of expertise in investment services.

1. Lexique > Classe d'actifs
  2. Actions émergentes
Menu
Lexique > Classe d'actifs

Actions émergentes

Actions émergentes

Les actions émergentes font référence aux actions cotées de sociétés issues des marchés émergents. En général, les pays émergents sont considérés comme des économies à croissance rapide qui tendent à offrir une opportunité de rentabilité plus élevée, mais au prix d’un risque supérieur à celui des marchés développés.

Les critères de définition d’un marché actions émergent varient d’un fournisseur d’indices à l’autre. La société américaine MSCI, l’un des chefs de file dans ce domaine, a développé le premier indice complet en 1988, le MSCI Emerging Markets. Largement suivie par les gestionnaires de fonds, passifs et actifs, cette référence repose sur trois familles de critères: le développement économique, la taille et les conditions de liquidité, et enfin l’accessibilité du marché. A son lancement, l’indice comptait 10 pays, soit moins de 1% de la capitalisation boursière mondiale. Il en intègre aujourd’hui 24, qui représentent 10% de la capitalisation globale. A eux seuls, les BRIC (Brésil, Russie, Inde et Chine) pèsent pour 47% de l’indice.

Les «marchés frontières» («frontier markets») peuvent être considérés comme un sous-ensemble des marchés actions émergents, lequel regroupe des économies aux premiers stades de leur développement. En dépit de leur petite taille et de leur liquidité relativement faible, ces marchés présentent un potentiel jugé attractif par les investisseurs, qui y voient la possibilité d’investir dans «les marchés émergents de l’avenir». Le MSCI Frontier Markets Index compte 29 pays frontières, parmi lesquels le Bangladesh, le Koweït, la Roumanie et le Viêtnam.

Actions des marchés émergents
Nos expertises

Expertise d'investissement

Découvrez l’ensemble de nos expertises en matière de services d’investissement.